International Chess School Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

+3
HangingKing
Blue Devil Knight
jeff2k7
7 posters

Go down

Newbie Empty Newbie

Post by jeff2k7 May 23rd 2009, 2:31 pm

Hi everyone! I guess I am the newest member of this forum and ICS. I want to say "Thank You" to all of you. Your comments and reviews of ICS have helped me tremendously. I have been looking for a way to get serious about learning chess and this definitely seems like the way to go. I am waiting on ICS to send me my login information so I can get started!

I am a very inexeperienced player and relatively new to the game. I don't have a rating and haven't even decided on where to play online games. I've started by reading a dozen books on various topics (openings, tactics, stragegy, etc.) and playing lots of games against the computer. I'm addicted! I can't wait to start studying the ICS course.

As a newbie, I welcome any advice you have.. where to play, what software I should own, books I need to read, etc.
jeff2k7
jeff2k7
Learning the Rules
Learning the Rules

Back to top Go down

Newbie Empty Re: Newbie

Post by Blue Devil Knight May 23rd 2009, 3:53 pm

Welcome to the site. I wrote an article for beginners here:
http://chessconfessions.blogspot.com/2008/05/advice-for-chess-beginners.html

If you are truly a beginner, this course will likely be way over your head (no offense meant there, but they presuppose quite a bit of knowledge). However, go ahead and give it a shot and see. No harm, no foul.

Again, if you are really a beginner then you will lose all of your games because of tactics and inexperience, so you will need to supplement the course with games and tactical training (as discussed at my post above).