International Chess School Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Just about to start the course

4 posters

Go down

Just about to start the course Empty Just about to start the course

Post by Jazzmouse August 15th 2014, 6:17 pm

Hi
I am about to start this chess course. Any tips how to approach it for best effect? Some background about me:
I played a lot when I was a teenager and in my 20s (reached a rating of approx. 1700) , but work and family commitments meant that I stopped playing for about 30 years. I started playing again about 4 years ago and have got my rating back to about 1700. I only play over the board...internal club tournaments, in league matches against other clubs, and in weekend congresses...never online. Overall I play about 80-100 rated games a year. In terms of resources, I have Chessbase 10 and Fritz 12, the course from ICS (including the openings module), and a few random chess books. I have never studied systematically, but like most folk I know, I have a random knowledge of lots of different bits and bobs, with great gaps where I know nothing. I don't really know opening variations, but do know the basic principles (I am hoping that the ICS openings module will fill this gap). I have never really studied endgames, but have Silman's endgame course book which I could work through in parallel with the ICS course (which does not seem to cover endgames as far as I can see). Also I do have Silman's How to Reassess Your Chess: Do you think I should work through this first, or just start on the ICS course straight away?
Any guidance would be gratefully received.
Jazzmouse

Jazzmouse
Learning the Rules
Learning the Rules

Back to top Go down

Just about to start the course Empty Re: Just about to start the course

Post by BorgQueen September 7th 2014, 2:53 am

Sorry I missed your post.