International Chess School Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hi from ChromeDome

+2
Blue Devil Knight
ChromeDome
6 posters

Go down

Hi from ChromeDome Empty And So it Begins

Post by ChromeDome September 21st 2009, 12:56 am

Hi All,

I just joined the International Chess School and I am hoping that I can 1) improve my skills as a chess player, and 2) finally get to the 2000 level which I have been dreaming about for many, many years.

I use to play chess everyday back in the seventies after work, but when I left the company so did the enthusiasm. So I have not play since that time. My wife bought me a chess computer for Christmas many years ago. It played a good game of chess but I found the experience very frustrating from the stand point that none of us can analyze a chess board right down to the last move. So there really was no way of ever winning a game. You also did not understand what you did wrong.

About a month ago I found a web site called the Chess Magnet School. They had a one month free trial membership so I figured what do I have to lose for nothing. It was not bad. They pose mate in one, mate in two and mate in three problems. Also they as you to make a move for either black or white that will get them into check mate and then mate them. I find that it has been great exercise to look at a board and get my mind oriented again. However, what is missing is the GAME. Spending hours eveuating position with out any explanation on how you got here and why you are doing what you are doing seems to be a waste. I also have a set of DVDs by Roman Dzindzichashvili on the Russian School of Chess. I thought that it would explain how the school teaches their students to play chess. Well it did not. There was some good infomation on the DVDs but it was not what I was looking for.