International Chess School Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Mind of a Beginner

+3
chesstiger
HangingKing
zmaster
7 posters

Go down

The Mind of a Beginner Empty The Mind of a Beginner

Post by zmaster December 2nd 2009, 9:18 pm

I have been a USCF rate Expert for over 10 years but I am going to study this course as if I know nothing. For 13 months I will follow instructions given by the ICS. I have also been a chess coach for over 20 years. It always puzzled me why scholastic players improve by leaps and bounds while adult struggle to improve at all. What I have experienced is that adults filter instruction and information while being very reluctant to change. My scholastic players follow instruction with questions. Being 60 years old I don’t have time to waste. The material that I have covered in the first month is the best instruction that I have seen and I have read hundreds of chess books, studied with software, DVD’s and taken lessons from GM’s, IM’s and other chess masters.
The theory has shown me a unique approach to think, I have never heard of a “TO DO LIST” before and “play of coordinating piece”. I just finish play through 4 annotated games and found their annotations very instructed. Following their suggestion I used a board and pieces. Before I studied games using ChessBase. Using a real chess board going over the annotated games, I found it difficult to follow some of the variations mentally and if I move the piece to follow the variations then I am not able to go back to the mainline from memory. What I plan to do is to play the mainline on the board and look at the long variations using ChessBase. Maybe during this course I will improve my board vision to the point that I can follow all these variations clearly mentally.
How are you going over the annotated games and has the ICS training improve your ability to analyze better mentally?

zmaster
Scholastic Player