International Chess School Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

hello Everyone

4 posters

Go down

hello Everyone Empty hello Everyone

Post by ChessChamp November 1st 2009, 6:04 pm

Hi everyone, I decided to take up chess and was looking for a good online program and found ICS. Before I paid I wanted to do a little research and came across this forum. So here I am, let me tell you a little about my chess knowledge up till now. When i was around 12 years old i started playing a little bit at school, Learned the basics and played in a couple of tournaments. I believe my rating was around 1400-1500. I am now 25 and i have not played any serious chess since those days but I recently decided that i want to become a really good player and I'm confident that i can pull it off. I'm probably going to average 3-4 hours a day playing and learning chess and hopefully by the end of this course I will be well on my way to becoming good! I have an ICC account username:ChessCh4mp, add me to friends if you want to play (or give me lessons if you can kick my ass Very Happy ) Well that's about it, I don't want to bore everyone Razz See you on the other topics Wink

ChessChamp
Learning the Rules
Learning the Rules

Back to top Go down

hello Everyone Empty Re: hello Everyone

Post by fanat November 1st 2009, 10:10 pm

Welcome to the forum.

It's great that you decided to start studying chess seriously. After doing ICS for more than half a year I've realized that people need some good basics before starting ICS program. I mean you should obviously study tactics on a regular basis and you should have some familiarity with strategy/positional chess. If you finished any basic strategy book like "Inside Amateur's mind" or "How to reassess your chess" you should be good.

ICS material is very good but I believe that it's not all that basic and having a good foundation helps a lot.