International Chess School Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

King's Indian material is fantastic

5 posters

Go down

King's Indian material is fantastic Empty King's Indian material is fantastic

Post by Blue Devil Knight June 9th 2009, 10:45 pm

The material on what to do when black plays a King's Indian setup is simply gorgeous. I love the way they organize it into the four major plans for black, and what white's plans should be in response for each case (this is after move 6). It has a combination of elegance and utility that you would be hard-pressed to find even in an opening book.
Blue Devil Knight
Blue Devil Knight
Grandmaster
Grandmaster

http://chessconfessions.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

King's Indian material is fantastic Empty Re: King's Indian material is fantastic

Post by mathteacher July 1st 2009, 2:17 pm

It's my favorite too. I never considered Ng3 before I studied this module.
mathteacher
mathteacher
Learning the Rules
Learning the Rules

Back to top Go down

King's Indian material is fantastic Empty Re: King's Indian material is fantastic

Post by Bilbo July 25th 2009, 5:50 am

I've just started studying this over the past couple days in preparation for the British Championships about to start after the weekend.

I'm entering the under 100 section and also the 110 Weekender Yates tournament and have always hated playing against the Kings Indian because I only had a vague idea of what to do.

I used to play the bayonett attack which is essentially a race, white trying to undermine Black's queenside before he gets mated on the kingside and I didn't enjoy facing it at all.

This new reportoire is so much more fun! Now after Bd3 Black's looming threat of f5 just doesn't have the same impact as I've overprotected that square and can simply take the pawn and then play Ng3 and f4 busting any black hopes of attack!